Steering Committee

The Steering Committee consists of representatives from across campus who contribute to the focus areas of our CIRTL Learning Community and facilitate the success of our activities.  Representatives come from academic administration, evaluation and assessment of diversity programs, faculty development and effective use of instructional technology, and faculty who have already demonstrated their commitment to excellence in undergraduate STEM education through their innovative activities.

Academic Administration:

  • Dr. William LaCourse, Dean, College of Natural and Mathematical Sciences (CNMS), Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, founder of the Chemistry Discovery Center, PI of NIH STEM BUILD grant, co-PI of NSF Innovation Through Institutional Integration grant
  • Dr. Marie desJardins, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, College of Engineering and Information Technology (COEIT), Professor of Computer Science and Electrical Engineering, CAREER awardee, Hrabowski Fund for Innovation awardee
  • Dr. John Stolle-McAllister, Associate Dean for Student & Curricular Affairs, College of Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences (CAHSS), Associate Professor of Modern Languages, Linguistics and Intercultural Communication
  • Simon Stacey, Interim Vice Provost and Dean of Undergraduate Education

 Evaluation and Assessment of Diversity Programs:

  • Dr. Kenneth Maton, Professor, Department of Psychology, research on minority student achievement (ongoing evaluation and implementation assessment of the Meyerhoff Scholars Program)
  • Sundiata (Sunji) Jangha, Director, Math/Science Upward Bound Program, Co-Director, LSAMP Program, a Ph.D. student in Public Policy STEM evaluation track

Faculty Development and Effective Use of Instructional Technology:

  • Dr. Linda Hodges, Director, Faculty Development Center
  • Dr. John Fritz, Assistant Vice President, Instructional Technology and New Media
  • Dr. Sherri Braxton-Lieber, Director of Instructional Technology
  • Jack Suess, Vice President of Information Technology and Chief Information Officer, IMS Global Board chair, EDUCAUSE Board of Directors, NSTIC and IDESG Board of Directors

Faculty who have won Hrabowski Fund for Innovation Awards:

  • Dr. Phil Sokolove, Professor of Biological Sciences, research on STEM education
  • Dr. Brad Peercy, Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  • Dr. Diane Alonzo, Senior Lecturer and Director, Shady Grove Program, Department of Psychology
  • Dr. Mariajose Castellanos, Lecturer, Undergraduate Program Director, Department of Chemical, Biochemical and Environmental Engineering
  • Dr. Jason Kestner, Assistant Professor, Department of Physics